< back

A Day with Nadia – Scrum Master at ecx.io

Düsseldorf, Germany

Nadia is a Scrum Master and responsible for the development of Scrum at ecx.io. She herself says: “I don’t lead a project, but rather a team, which in turn implements a project”. In Italy, where she originates from, she studied maths and computer science. After some time as a software developer she went to Finland, where her love of Agile and Scrum developed. The search for new challenges drew her to Germany and fortunately to ecx.io.

Experience with:

  • Software development
  • Quality assurance
  • Agile software testing
  • Test managing
  • Leadership
  • 9 years of Scrum

Nadia works at our location in Germany. Find out more about our office in Dusseldorf here.

6:45 am

Morning routine

For Nadia, “leading people” starts as soon as she gets up. She has a son who needs to be looked after and taken to nursery, however there is always time for breakfast together. She takes him to nursery in the car and then drives on to the harbour. When the weather is good she drives back home and cycles along the river Rhine to work.

9:30 am

Getting connected

Her agency morning starts at the coffee machine, chatting briefly with her colleagues. Then she says “good morning” to her team, with a look at their group chat. Nadia’s team is spread through Austria, Croatia, England and Germany. This tool has therefore become an important means of communication. Emails are always the second choice.

10:00 am

Daily Scrum

At 10am it really gets going, at the daily update meeting with the whole team. It is important to Nadia that this is via videoconference, since right from the start this connects the team more strongly than faceless voices. This meeting benefits everyone, by bringing them all up to date and agreeing the tasks for the day.

12:30 pm

Time-out

Nadia loves eating and there is nothing she doesn’t like – absolutely nothing at all. In spite of this, she likes to know exactly what she is eating, so she prefers to bring her own lunch with her. This stops her ordering too much unhealthy rubbish or getting sandwiches from the “breadman”. Exceptions are planned lunches with colleagues. If Minh and Sebastian invite her to make summer rolls together, for example.

1:00 pm

Managing

Whenever time permits, Nadia tries to concentrate on the further development of the Scrum area. Her goal is to continually push forward the entire subject of Scrum. She unites all the Scrum Masters at ecx.io and tries to strengthen the connection between the sites and across the countries. She also ensures that the personnel in her area continue to develop.

2:00 pm

Team up & Work

Even though Nadia’s project team is spread out internationally, at least some of them come to Düsseldorf regularly. For some subjects, it is simply more helpful to sit down together in one room. To ensure this time is used as effectively as possible, Nadia prepares for the presence of her team members as much she can to make their stay as pleasant as she can.

3:00 pm

Internal communication

In spite of chats, emails etc, Nadia’s day is usually peppered with meetings. Another role taken on by Nadia is the team lead for an entire technology team. Communication – whether digital or face to face – therefore represents the lion’s share of her work. It sounds exhausting, and it is, but that is exactly what she loves: intense collaboration with great people.

from 5:30 pm

The somewhat different team

After work she goes home, where her son is already waiting to go to the playground. The intensive contact with people she loves carries on seamlessly. All in all, this may sound like a stressful everyday life, but without all the changes, various characters and lots of new experiences, Nadia would get bored much too quickly.

Passionate beyond digital.

ecx.io and You?

Our insights into working at ecx.io convinced you? We’re happy to receive your application! You can find more insights into ecx.io on Kununu. The platform ranked us Place 12 (GER) and Place 7 (AT). We’re really proud of this!

Questions? Get in touch with Sissi:

Susanne Kistner
HR Business Partner

ecx.io Dusseldorf Office
t +49 211 4174320

 

Email: 
sissi@ecx.io

< Zurück

Ein Tag mit Nadia – Scrum Master bei ecx.io

Düsseldorf, Germany

Nadia ist Scrum Masterin und zeitgleich für die Leitung und Entwicklung des Scrum Bereichs bei ecx.io zuständig. Sie selber sagt: „Ich bin ein Leader, kein Manager. Ich leite Menschen, nicht Projekte.“ Das war nicht immer der Fall. In Italien, wo sie herkommt, hat sie Mathematik und Informatik studiert und später als Softwareentwicklerin gearbeitet.

Erfahrung mit:

  • Softwareentwicklung
  • Qualitätssicherung
  • Agiles Software-Testing
  • Test Managing
  • 9 Jahre Scrum

Nadia arbeitet an unserem Standort in Deutschland. Hier findest Du mehr Infos zu unserem Office in Düsseldorf.

7:45 Uhr

Weg zur Arbeit

Das „Leiten von Menschen“ beginnt für Nadia direkt nach dem Aufstehen. Sie hat einen Sohn, der versorgt und in die Kita gebracht werden muss. Die Zeit reicht allerdings immer für ein gemeinsames Frühstück. Mit dem Auto bringt sie den Kleinen dann zum Spielen und fährt anschließend weiter in den Hafen. Bei schönem Wetter macht sie eine Kehrtwende nach Hause und fährt mit dem Rad den Rhein entlang zur Arbeit.

9:30 Uhr

Kaffee & ankommen

Der Agenturmorgen beginnt für sie an der Kaffeemaschine und mit einem kleinen Chat mit den Kollegen. Danach sagt sie ihrem Team „Guten Morgen“: mit einem Blick in ihren Slack-Chat. Nadia’s Team sitzt in Österreich, Kroatien und Deutschland verteilt. Das Tool ist daher ein wichtiges Kommunikationsmittel geworden. Mails kommen immer erst danach.

10:30 Uhr

Daily Scrum

Um 10 Uhr geht es dann richtig los: beim Daily-Meeting mit dem gesamten Team. Via Hangouts und immer als Videokonferenz. Das ist Nadia wichtig, weil es das Team stärker verbindet, als eine gesichtslose Stimme aus dem Off. Der Termin nützt allen, um sich auf den aktuellen Stand zu bringen und abzuklären, wer sich den Tag über womit beschäftigt.

12:30 Uhr

Auszeit

Nadia liebt essen und es gibt nichts was sie nicht mag – wirklich gar nichts. Trotzdem weiß sie gerne, was genau sie gerade isst und bringt sich ihr Mittagessen am liebsten selber mit. Das bewahrt sie davor zu viel ungesunden Quatsch zu bestellen oder sich beim „Brötchenmann“ mit Sandwiches zu versorgen. Ausnahmen sind geplante Mittagessen mit Kollegen. Wenn Minh und Sebastian beispielsweise zum gemeinsamen Sommerrollen rollen einladen.

13:00 Uhr

Managing

Wann immer es die Zeit zulässt, versucht Nadia sich auf die Weiterentwicklung des Scrum Bereichs zu konzentrieren. Ihr Ziel ist es, das gesamte Thema Scrum kontinuierlich nach vorne zu bringen. Sie hält alle Scrum Master bei ecx.io zusammen und versucht die Verbindung der Standorte über alle Länder hinweg zu stärken. Außerdem kümmert sie sich darum, dass ihr Bereich personell wächst.

14:00 Uhr

Team up & Work

Auch wenn Nadias Projektteam international verbreitet ist, kommen zumindest Teile der Kollegen regelmäßig in Düsseldorf vorbei. Für manche Themen ist es einfach hilfreicher gemeinsam in einem Raum zu sitzen. Damit diese Zeit so effektiv wie möglich genutzt werden kann, bereitet Nadia die Anwesenheit ihrer Teammitglieder möglichst genau vor, um ihnen den Aufenthalt so angenehm wie möglich zu gestalten.

15:00 Uhr

Interne Kommunikation

Trotz Chats, Mails und co. ist Nadias Tag in der Regel gespickt mit Meetings. Denn eine weitere Rolle die Nadia einnimmt ist die des Team Leads für ein gesamtes Technologieteam. Kommunikation – ob digital oder Face to Face – macht daher den Bärenanteil ihrer Arbeit aus. Klingt anstrengend, ist es auch, aber genau das ist es was sie liebt: intensive Zusammenarbeit mit tollen Menschen.

ab 17:30 Uhr

Das etwas andere Team

Nach der Arbeit geht es ab nach Hause, wo ihr Sohn schon darauf wartet, dass es ab zum Spielplatz geht. Der intensive Kontakt mit Menschen die sie liebt geht sozusagen nahtlos weiter. Alles in allem mag das nach einem stressigen Alltag klingen. Manchmal ist es das auch. Aber ohne all die Abwechslung, unterschiedlichen Charaktere und viele neue Erfahrungen würde Nadia sich viel zu schnell langweilen.

Passionate beyond digital.

ecx.io und Du?

Der Einblick in den Alltag unserer Kollegen hat Dich überzeugt? Dann freuen wir uns über Deine Bewerbung! Weitere Eindrücke von ecx.io bekommst Du durch unsere Bewertungen auf Kununu. Die Plattform hat uns beim Arbeitgeber-Ranking auf Platz 12 (DE) und Platz 7 (AT) gewählt. Darauf sind wir mächtig stolz!

Du hast Fragen? Dann melde Dich bei Sissi:

Susanne Kistner
HR Business Partner

ecx.io Düsseldorf Office
t +49 211 4174320

Mail: 
sissi@ecx.io