< back

A Day with Martina – Quality Engineer at ecx.io

Varaždin, Croatia

Martina has been with ecx.io since April 2016 and works as a Quality Engineer. It is her job to ensure that all products delivered to the customer are in perfect working order. Martina has always been strongly connected to the digital world, and quickly realised that the IT sector was full of opportunities for her. When she heard of ecx.io, one of the few international companies in Varaždin, she immediately applied to us. The close collaboration with other ecx.io sites in the UK, Germany and Austria was a particular incentive for her.

Martina’s path to becoming a Quality Engineer:

  • Fundamental knowledge and interest in software quality assurance
  • Degree in information technology
  • Experience in software quality assurance

Martina works at one of our locations in Croatia. Find out more about our office in Varaždin here.

6:45 am

Start of the day

Martina lives not far from the agency. Her journey to work by car only takes 10 minutes. After getting up at 6.45am, she has enough time to comfortably get ready and enjoy her first cup of coffee at home. She arrives at the agency around 8am.

8:00 am

Warming up

The workday starts with a second coffee and a short chat. Quite often things are discussed or even solved in the kitchen or the corridor. At her desk, she then looks at her emails, checks open tickets and gains an overview of what needs to be done. If there is time before the daily meeting she begins testing.

10:00 am

Daily double

For most of the teams at ecx.io, the first meeting of the day is the daily scrum meeting. Because Martina works for two teams – one in the UK and one in Austria – she has two back to back daily meetings in the form of video chats. These are to discuss what was achieved the previous day and what needs to be done. The entire scrum team participates so that everyone is up to speed.

12:30 pm

Ordering lunch

Food for the lunch break is usually ordered from a delivery service. Occasionally someone brings something in. Martina’s team prefers to eat together, so they usually make a joint order.

1:00 pm

Testing

At lunch, current situations and tickets are usually discussed as a matter of course. Afterwards the things discussed are examined, tested and further developed, often jointly with the developers. If a question arises that can only be answered by the customer, the product owner or project manager also gets involved. It is therefore very helpful for the international sites that Martina and her team in Varaždin are in view or earshot of each other.

3:30 pm

Enablement

Another of Martina’s responsibilities is the training of currently two new employees, known as enablement. Here she explains how and what is tested, answers questions and points out what needs to be given special attention. Quality assurance on different devices on several browsers with different programme versions, taking account of many other criteria, can be quite complex. Added to that is clean documentation and a clear structure, which make the work easier within the team. Here, she is concerned with understanding.

4:00 pm

Home time?

Before Martina leaves work, she checks to see if all the goals she discussed in the daily meeting have been achieved. If she finds something hasn’t been done, or has questions, she documents this and initiates further processing either personally or via a ticket. If there isn’t time for this, she makes a note to discuss the issue in the daily meeting the following day.

4:30 pm

When everything is running smoothly...

Martina likes to spend her evenings with friends. Or she takes advantage of the nearby river in Varaždin and goes for a run there or in the surrounding forest.

Passionate beyond digital.

ecx.io and You?

Our insights into working at ecx.io convinced you? We’re happy to receive your application! You can find more insights into ecx.io on Kununu. The platform ranked us Place 12 (GER) and Place 7 (AT). We’re really proud of this!

Questions? Get in touch with Sissi:

Susanne Kistner
HR Business Partner

ecx.io Dusseldorf Office
t +49 211 4174320

 

Email: 
sissi@ecx.io

< Zurück

Ein Tag mit Martina – Quality Engineer bei ecx.io

Varaždin, Kroatien

Martina ist seit April 2016 bei ecx.io und arbeitet als Quality Engineer. Ihre Aufgabe besteht darin, sicherzustellen, dass alle an den Kunden ausgelieferten Produkte perfekt ausgereift sind. Martina war schon immer stark mit dem Digitalen verbunden und hat schnell erkannt, dass die IT-Welt für sie voller Möglichkeiten steckt. Als sie von ecx.io als eines der wenigen internationalen Unternehmen in Varaždin gehört hat, hat sie sich sofort bei uns beworben. Besonderer Anreiz für sie war die enge Zusammenarbeit mit den anderen ecx.io Standorten in UK, Deutschland und Österreich.

Martinas Weg zum Quality Engineer:

  • Grundkenntnisse und Interesse an Software Qualitätssicherung
  • Studium für Informationstechnologie
  • Erfahrung mit Software Qualitätssicherung

Martina arbeitet an einem unserer Standorte in Kroatien. Hier findest Du mehr Infos zu unserem Office in Varaždin.

6:45 Uhr

Start in den Tag

Martina wohnt nicht weit von der Agentur. Ihr Arbeitsweg mit dem Auto beträgt gerade einmal 10 Minuten. Da bleibt ihr nach dem Aufstehen um 6:45 Uhr genug Zeit sich in Ruhe fertigzumachen und den ersten Kaffee noch zu Hause zu genießen. Gegen 8 Uhr kommt sie schließlich in der Agentur an.

8:00 Uhr

Warmup

Der Arbeitstag startet mit einem zweiten Kaffee und einem kleinen Plausch. Nicht selten werden in der Küche oder auf dem Gang die ersten Dinge besprochen oder sogar schon gelöst. Am Platz schaut sie dann in ihre Mails, checkt offene Tickets und verschafft sich einen Überblick, was alles getan werden muss. Wenn die Zeit bis zum Daily ausreicht, legt sie bereits mit dem Testen los.

10:00 Uhr

Doppel Daily

Für die meisten Teams bei ecx.io ist der erste Termin des Tages das Daily Scrum Meeting. Weil Martina für zwei Teams arbeitet – eines in UK, ein anderes in Österreich – hat sie zwei aufeinanderfolgende Dailys in Form eines Videochats. Hier wird besprochen, was am Vortag erreicht wurde und was weiter getan werden muss. Dran teil nimmt das gesamte Scrum Team, damit jeder über alles gleichermaßen informiert ist.

12:30 Uhr

Mittagsbestellung

Für die Mittagspause wird meistens Essen von einem Lieferdienst bestellt. Gelegentlich bringt sich jemand etwas mit. Martinas Team bevorzugt es allerdings gemeinsam zu essen, da bietet sich eine kollektive Bestellung an.

13:00 Uhr

Testing

Am Mittagstisch wird in der Regel automatisch über aktuelle Stände und Tickets gesprochen. Was dort besprochen wurde, wird anschließend angeschaut, getestet und weiter ausgearbeitet. Oft gemeinsam mit den Entwicklern. Wenn sich eine Frage ergibt, die nur vom Kunden selber beantwortet werden kann, kommen der Product Owner oder der Project Manager ebenfalls dazu. Da ist es – bei aller Internationalität – sehr hilfreich, dass Martina und ihr Team in Varaždin in Sicht- und Rufweite zueinander sitzen.

15:30 Uhr

Enablement

Ein weiteres Thema für das Martina mitverantwortlich ist, ist die Einarbeitung von aktuell zwei neuen Mitarbeitern – das sogenannte Enablement. Hier erklärt sie wie und was getestet wird, beantwortet Fragen und weist hin, worauf besonders geachtet werden muss. Denn Qualitätssicherung auf unterschiedlichen Geräten, in mehreren Browsern, mit verschiedenen Programmversionen und unter Berücksichtigung vieler weiterer Kriterien, kann ganz schön komplex werden. Hinzu kommen eine saubere Dokumentation und eine klare Struktur, die das Arbeiten im Team erleichtert. Hier sorgt sie für den Durchblick.

16:00 Uhr

Feierabend?

Bevor Martina Feierabend macht, schaut sie, ob alle Ziele die sie im Daily besprochen hat auch erreicht wurden. Wenn sie einen Mangel findet oder eine Frage hat, dokumentiert sie dies und stößt eine weitere Bearbeitung entweder persönlich oder über ein Ticket an. Ist dafür keine Zeit mehr, wird eine kleine Notiz gemacht, um das Thema am nächsten Tag im Daily zu besprechen.

16:30 Uhr

Wenn alles läuft...

Ihren Feierabend verbringt Martina am allerliebsten mit ihren Freunden. Oder sie nutzt die Nähe zu einem Fluss in Varaždin und geht dort oder in den umliegenden Wäldern eine Runde laufen.

Passionate beyond digital.

ecx.io und Du?

Der Einblick in den Alltag unserer Kollegen hat Dich überzeugt? Dann freuen wir uns über Deine Bewerbung! Weitere Eindrücke von ecx.io bekommst Du durch unsere Bewertungen auf Kununu. Die Plattform hat uns beim Arbeitgeber-Ranking auf Platz 12 (DE) und Platz 7 (AT) gewählt. Darauf sind wir mächtig stolz!

Du hast Fragen? Dann melde Dich bei Sissi:

Susanne Kistner
HR Business Partner

ecx.io Düsseldorf Office
t +49 211 4174320

Mail: 
sissi@ecx.io