< back

A Day with Isabel – .NET Web Developer at ecx.io

Wels, Austria

Isabel is currently the newest developer at ecx.io. Even before she got her school-leaving qualifications she became aware of us, and started working with us straight after she finished. Unusually, she gained a technical education alongside her schooling at a technical school (HTL). She had already established that programming was her goal. From the very beginning therefore, she wanted to work in a company with larger projects and new technologies. She is now a Sitecore Web Developer, building entire platforms with her team and training customers in their management.

Isabel’s journey to becoming a Web Developer:

  • Work placement: Development of software for eye specialists
  • Completion of education at Grieskirchen HTL, including technical qualifications

Isabel works at one of our locations in Austria. Find out more about our office in Wels here.

6:00 am

Commuting with perspective

Isabel’s day begins at 6am. She commutes daily from Lohnsburg to Wels, which takes around an hour by car, after making time to have breakfast at home. Isabel accepts not living close to work because at the end of the day – in the literal sense – this decision pays off. But more about that later.

8:30 am

Coffee? No thanks!

Around 8am Isabel arrives in the office. She doesn’t drink coffee and has already had breakfast, so she skips the customary trip to the kitchen and boots up her computer. In group chat, she checks whether her colleagues have discussed anything else the previous day which she should follow up. Then she checks her emails and looks through open tickets.

9:45 am

All about the sprint

By 9:45am at the latest, the rest of her team are there for the daily scrum meeting. In short, scrum means dividing a project into sections in order to focus on individual features. These two-week phases are called sprints, and for Isabel the current sprint is coming to an end. The meetings are therefore particularly important. Their purpose is to discuss tasks and possible hurdles, and to guarantee a successful sprint completion.

12:30 pm

The unusual baker

Lunchbreaks in Wels are spent in a great variety of ways. Some people go to the canteen in the nearby Institute of Technology. Others order something in. Isabel usually visits the travelling baker, who comes directly to the building every day.  From time to time, she and her team drive somewhere out of town for lunch.

1:00 pm

Hiatus

When the midday slump strikes and everyone’s feeling sluggish, Isabel dips into chat. Here, her team maintains several threads on various subjects: Entertainment, tech news and work. There is always something interesting or amusing to be found – a perfect diversion before returning to work.

1:30 pm

Time to code

Tasks have been defined, hunger satisfied – now it’s back to the essentials: Programming. And because every line of code can be crucial, distractions are put on hold. Apart from important questions to or from colleagues of course. Otherwise Isabel is fully immersed in Visual Studio – her development environment.

4:00 pm

First check in, then check out

Before Isabel logs off, she assigns a clear status to every matter she has worked on. The next day this enables her to pick up seamlessly where she left off without having to reacquaint herself with the task. Before the weekend, like today, this makes twice as much sense. The current code status is then registered and thereby made available to all. Then she can toast the weekend with colleagues.

from 4:30 pm

Relaxing after work

What awaits Isabel at home is the reason she happily put up with an hour’s commute to work: Her family’s farm, which includes sheep, ducks, chickens, rabbits, guinea pigs, cats, a dog and five horses. Because as much as she likes working with her team at ecx.io, she also enjoys the contrast to working in front of a screen. Through riding and exercising the horses, her head clears in no time. On a sprint through the forest, the sprint at work fades quickly into the background.

Passionate beyond digital.

ecx.io and You?

Our insights into working at ecx.io convinced you? We’re happy to receive your application! You can find more insights into ecx.io on Kununu. The platform ranked us Place 12 (GER) and Place 7 (AT). We’re really proud of this!

Questions? Get in touch with Sissi:

Susanne Kistner
HR Business Partner

ecx.io Dusseldorf Office
t +49 211 4174320

 

Email: 
sissi@ecx.io

< Zurück

Ein Tag mit Isabel – Web Developer bei ecx.io

Wels, Österreich

Isabel ist aktuell die jüngste Entwicklerin bei ecx.io. Noch bevor sie ihren Schulabschluss in der Tasche hatte, ist sie auf uns aufmerksam geworden und hat im Anschluss direkt bei uns angefangen. Denn anders als üblich, hat sie an einer höheren technischen Lehranstalt (HTL) mit ihrer schulischen gleichzeitig eine technische Ausbildung erlangt. Das Ziel, einmal zu programmieren, stand also bereits fest. Sie wollte von Beginn an bei einem Unternehmen mit größeren Projekten und neuen Technologien arbeiten. Jetzt ist sie Sitecore Web Developer, baut mit ihrem Team ganze Plattformen und bringt Kunden anschließend den Umgang damit bei.

Isabels Stationen zum Web Developer:

  • Praktikum: Entwicklung einer Software für Augenärzte
  • Matura inklusive technischer Ausbildung an der HTL Grieskirchen

Isabel arbeitet an einem unserer Standorte in Österreich. Hier findest Du mehr Infos zu unserem Office in Wels.

6:00 Uhr

Pendeln mit Aussichten

Isabels Tag beginnt schon um 6 Uhr. Sie pendelt täglich von Lohnsburg nach Wels, was mit dem Auto ca. eine Stunde dauert. Außerdem nimmt sie sich morgens die Zeit, um zu Hause zu frühstücken. Dass sie nicht allzu nah an ihrem Arbeitsplatz wohnt, nimmt Isabel gerne in Kauf. Denn am Ende des Tages – im wahrsten Sinne – rentiert sich diese Entscheidung für sie. Aber dazu später mehr.

8:30 Uhr

Kaffee? Nein, danke!

Gegen 8 Uhr kommt Isabel im Büro an. Kaffee trinkt sie keinen, gefrühstückt hat sie auch schon, daher überspringt sie den obligatorischen Gang in die Küche und fährt direkt ihren Rechner hoch. Im Gruppenchat schaut sie nach, ob die Kollegen am Vortag noch etwas besprochen haben, bei dem sie sich einklinken sollte. Dann checkt sie ihre Mails und schaut offene Tickets durch.

9:45 Uhr

Alles für den Sprint

Bis spätestens 9:45 ist der Rest ihres Teams da, für das Daily Scrum Meeting. Scrum, das bedeutet (extrem verkürzt), ein Projekt in Abschnitte aufzuteilen, um sich auf einzelne Features zu fokussieren. Diese zweiwöchigen Abschnitte heißen Sprints. Und bei Isabel ist der aktuelle Sprint bald zu Ende. Die Meetings sind daher besonders wichtig. Sie dienen dazu Aufgaben und etwaige Hürden zeitnah zu besprechen und einen erfolgreichen Sprintabschluss zu garantieren.

12:30 Uhr

Der etwas andere Bäcker

Die Mittagspausen in Wels werden sehr unterschiedlich verbracht. Einige gehen in die Mensa der nahegelegenen FH. Andere bestellen sich etwas. Isabel nutzt meistens den fahrenden Bäcker, der täglich direkt vors Gebäude kommt. Von Zeit zu Zeit fahren sie und ihr Team auch auswärts etwas essen.

13:00 Uhr

Intermezzo

Wenn die Mittagsträgheit zuschlägt und der Kopf möglichst langsam angeschoben werden möchte, schaut Isabel in den Chat. Hier pflegt ihr Team mehrere Channels zu unterschiedlichen Themen: Unterhaltung, Tech-News und Work. Da ist immer etwas Interessantes oder Amüsantes dabei. Perfekt für einen angenehmen Wiedereinstieg in den Arbeitsfluss.

13:30 Uhr

Time to code

Alle Aufgaben sind klar, der Hunger gestillt – jetzt geht es wieder ans Wesentliche: das Programmieren. Und weil jede Zeile Code ausschlaggebend sein kann, hat das Drumherum Sendepause. Abgesehen von wichtigen Fragen an oder von Kollegen selbstverständlich. Ansonsten ist Isabel ganz in Visual Studio – ihre Entwicklungsumgebung – vertieft.

16:00 Uhr

Erst einchecken, dann auschecken.

Bevor Isabel Feierabend macht, weist sie jedem Thema an dem sie gearbeitet hat einen klaren Status zu. Dadurch kann sie am nächsten Arbeitstag nahtlos da ansetzen, wo sie die Maus fallen gelassen hat und muss sich nicht neu in die Aufgabe hineindenken. Vor dem Wochenende, wie heute, macht das doppelt Sinn. Anschließend wird der aktuelle Code-Stand eingecheckt und somit für alle verfügbar gemacht. Dann kann mit den Kollegen auf das Wochenende angestoßen werden.

ab 16:30 Uhr

Ferien auf dem... Feierabend

Was Isabel zu Hause erwartet, ist der Grund warum sie eine Stunde Arbeitsweg gerne in Kauf nimmt: der Hof ihrer Familie, inklusive Schafen, Enten, Hühnern, Kaninchen, Meerschweinchen, Katzen, einem Hund und fünf Pferden. Denn, so gerne sie mit ihrem Team bei ecx.io zusammenarbeitet, so sehr genießt sie das Kontrastprogramm zur Arbeit vor dem Bildschirm. Ausreiten und Trainieren mit den Pferden macht den Kopf frei. Beim Sprint durch den Wald, rückt der Sprint auf der Arbeit schnell in den Hintergrund.

Passionate beyond digital.

ecx.io und Du?

Der Einblick in den Alltag unserer Kollegen hat Dich überzeugt? Dann freuen wir uns über Deine Bewerbung! Weitere Eindrücke von ecx.io bekommst Du durch unsere Bewertungen auf Kununu. Die Plattform hat uns beim Arbeitgeber-Ranking auf Platz 12 (DE) und Platz 7 (AT) gewählt. Darauf sind wir mächtig stolz!

Du hast Fragen? Dann melde Dich bei Sissi:

Susanne Kistner
HR Business Partner

ecx.io Düsseldorf Office
t +49 211 4174320

Mail: 
sissi@ecx.io